Designing an App

In this workshop we are analysing an existing app and designing our own that relates to our FMP.

Analysing an existing app.

WP_20160121_13_20_37_Pro

We analysed the app, Stumble upon, which is an online web sharing app. You sign up, select your personal interests and the site offers up a website linked to them. Each time you ‘stumble’ you are offered a different site, which you can like and dislike to narrow the search field. We highlighted extra info and one of the best features, which is ‘Stumble DNA’, a chart that shows the ratio of interests of liked websites.

Designing an App.

As part of my FMP I am making sculptural supporting pieces. I wanted to create a game style app that would allow the user to explore a selection of 3D sculptures in a fully augmented space. Each sculptural piece would be fully explorable, enhanceable and interactive, with animated functions and hidden messages. The tagline I came up with for it was, ‘an app that actively seeks to perform unexpectedly’.

WP_20160121_13_21_18_Pro

I’ve called this app ‘ The Uncanny App’, and I’m going to redesign it with better graphics. I might also come up with a different name for it too.

Leave a comment